In Data Entry Workflow, a workflow step can end up without an active user to pick it up. Depending on the cause, this either leaves the workflow running with no visible error, or moves it to the Error status.
Assignment issue without an error
A workflow step can be assigned to a team, a security role, or a hierarchy position, for example a manager. As soon as one of the eligible users starts the step, the workflow locks the step to that user. If this user does not complete the step, and becomes unavailable, no other eligible user can pick up the step. Because eligible users still exist for the team, role, or hierarchy position, the workflow does not move to the Error status. It remains in the In progress status, with no visible indication of the issue.
Example: A step is assigned to the Manager role. A user with this role starts the step, but does not complete it before going on two weeks of leave. Until this user returns, no other user with the Manager role can pick up the step.
Steps
Click Data entry workflow management.
Click the In progress workflows tab.
In the list, find and select the desired workflow.
Click the link of the workflow, to open it.
Expand the Tracking details list section.
In the list, select the step that shows no progress.
Click Reset. Reset regenerates the assignment, based on the current team, security role, or hierarchy setup in D365 F&SCM.
Close the page.
In the list, find and select the desired workflow again.
Click Restart step(s). As a result, the step is reactivated. For the eligible users, the step is added to the Open tasks assigned to me tab.
Note
If you add users back to the team, security role, or hierarchy position in D365 F&SCM, Reset picks up this change automatically.
You can also use Reset if no assignments exist for the step and it is in Error status (see the Assignment error section). This only is useful if you know if users linked to a team or role are (re)activated. In this case, if Reset results in assignments, the workflow automatically leaves the Error status, and continues.
Assignment error
A workflow step can also end up with no active user at all. In that case, the workflow moves to the Error status, and shows an error message. The error message states the step name, and that no active user is found for the configured assignment.
An assignment error can have several causes, for example:
A step is assigned to a team, but all users in the team are inactive.
A step is assigned to a security role, but no active users are linked to this role.
A step is assigned to a hierarchy position, for example a manager. Due to organizational changes, for example when an employee leaves, this position is temporarily vacant.
Steps
Click Data entry workflow management.
Click the Workflows with an error tab.
In the list, find and select the desired workflow.
Click the link of the workflow, to open it.
Expand the Tracking details list section.
In the list, select the step with status Error.
Click Add user assignment.
Note
The Add user assignment button is available only for a step without an assignment.
You can only use Add user assignment if you have the Data entry workflow manager role.
On the dialog, in the User field, enter or select the desired user.
Note
You can only select an active D365 F&SCM user.
You cannot assign the step to a team or a security role.
Confirm the dialog, to assign the selected user to the step.
Notes
After you assign a user with Add user assignment, the workflow automatically leaves the Error status, and continues.
If a workflow has several unassigned steps, repeat the Add user assignment action for each step. The workflow remains in the Error status, until all steps have an assignment.