--- title: "Delete message" slug: "delete-message" tags: ["Task topic"] status: "update" updated: 2026-10-05T12:10:10Z published: 2026-10-05T12:10:10Z canonical: "docs.staedean.com/delete-message" --- > ## Documentation Index > Fetch the complete documentation index at: https://docs.staedean.com/llms.txt > Use this file to discover all available pages before exploring further. # Delete message On the Message page, you cannot delete a message if it is used or if it has field mappings. A message can be used on, for example, a task, a web service action, or an EDI document flow. However, if such a message is no longer desired, to clean up your environment, you can still delete it. On delete, only the message is deleted. Usually, you do not clean your messages frequently. > [!NOTE] > Beware > > Cleaning up your messages permanently deletes them. Note that deleting a message affects the entities where it was used. For example, a web service action cannot run properly until another message is linked. So, use the clean-up functionality with caution. ### Steps 1. Go to **Connectivity studio** > **Periodic** > **Cleanup** > **Delete message**. 2. In the list, find and select the desired message. 3. Click **Delete**. 4. Click **Yes**. 5. Close the page.