--- title: "Define history cleanup settings on data entry workflow template" slug: "define-history-cleanup-settings-on-data-entry-workflow-template" description: "Manage your Data Entry Workflow templates by enabling history cleanup for staging data and tracking details to optimize performance and maintain accuracy." tags: ["Task", "Data Entry Wokflow", "DEW"] updated: 2026-07-08T07:54:22Z published: 2026-07-08T07:54:22Z canonical: "docs.staedean.com/define-history-cleanup-settings-on-data-entry-workflow-template" --- > ## Documentation Index > Fetch the complete documentation index at: https://docs.staedean.com/llms.txt > Use this file to discover all available pages before exploring further. # Define history cleanup settings on data entry workflow template For each data entry workflow template, you can define the history cleanup settings. You can enable the cleanup of the: - Staging data only. In this case: - The field values and related field history of the applicable workflows are deleted. - On the Workflows details page, in the Date cleaned at field, the cleanup date is entered. - Tracking details as well. In this case, the applicable workflows are deleted, including the tracking details. ### Steps 1. Go to **Data entry workflow** > **Design** > **Data entry workflow templates**. 2. In the list, click the link of the desired data entry workflow template. 3. Click **Edit**. 4. You can enable history cleanup for the template. If enabled, staging data can be deleted for workflows that are based on the template. Select **Yes** in the **Cleanup enabled** field. 5. Define the period type in which the number of periods is expressed. In the **Period** field, select an option. 6. Define the number of periods to be considered for cleanup. Example: Period = Week Number of periods = 3 In this case, history older than three weeks is deleted. In the **Number of periods** field, enter a number. 7. In addition to the staging data cleanup, you can enable the cleanup of workflows, including the tracking details. Select **Yes** in the **Clean up workflow tracking details** field. 8. Close the page. > [!NOTE] > **Notes** > > If you clean up data entry workflow history, only workflows with one of these statuses are considered: > > - **Ended** > - **Error** > - **Cancelled**